20.4 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024

    Latest Posts

    AFCON 2022 top scorers: Vincent Aboubakar leads Golden Boot race as Mohamed Salah scores first goal

    Vincent Aboubakar has thrown down a daunting early gauntlet in the race for the Africa Cup of Nations Golden Boot, while Mohamed Salah opened his account.

    The Cameroon captain has been in sublime form at the tournament thus far, netting a brace in both matches against Burkina Faso and Ethiopia to seal the hosts’ spot in the last-16 with a game to spare.

    Indomitable Lions team-mate Karl Toko Ekambi and Malawi’s Gabadinho Mhango are currently Aboubakar’s closest challengers on two goals apiece.

    The likes of Senegal talisman Sadio Mane, Liverpool team-mate Salah and Ghana veteran Andre Ayew are also off the mark, with a slew of Nigeria players also netting – Kelechi Iheanacho’s goal downed Egypt before Samuel Chukwueze, Taiwo Awoniyi and Moses Simon all netted against Sudan.

    Max Gradel has Ivory Coast’s only goal of the tournament so far, while Sofiane Boufal, Selim Amallah and Zakaria Aboukhlal have led Morocco’s charge into the knockout stages. Ibrahima Kone has two goals for Mali in the tournament, both of which have come from the penalty spot.

    Here, Standard Sport keeps you up to date with the battle for the Africa Cup of Nations Golden Boot…

    AFCON 2022 top scorers

    1Vincent AboubakarCameroon40
    2=Karl Toko EkambiCameroon20
    2=Wahbi KhazriTunisia21
    2=Gabadinho MhangoMalawi20
    2=Ibrahima KoneMali20
    6=Moses SimonNigeria11
    6=Selim AmallahMorocco11
    6=Musa BarrowGambia11
    6=Seifeddine JaziriTunisia10
    6=Mohamed SalahEgypt10
    6=Julio TavaresCape Verde10
    6=Sadio ManeSenegal10
    6=Gustavo SangareBurkina Faso10
    6=Issiaga SyllaGuinea10
    6=Sofiane BoufalMorocco10
    6=Zakaria AboukhlalMorocco10
    6=Aaron BoupendzaGabon10
    6=Kelechi IheanachoNigeria10
    6=Ablie JallowGambia10
    6=Max-Alain GradelIvory Coast10
    6=Dawa HotessaEthiopia10
    6=Boureima Hassane BandéBurkina Faso10
    6=Samuel ChukwuezeNigeria10
    6=Nicolas PepeIvory Coast10
    6=Jim AllevinahGabon10
    6=Andre AyewGhana10
    6=Walieldin KhedrSudan10
    6=Taiwo AwoniyiNigeria10
    6=Ishmael WadiZimbabwe10
    6=Musa Noah KamaraSierra Leone10
    6=Alhaji KamaraSierra Leone10
    6=Sebastian HallerIvory Coast10
    6=Esteban ObiangEquatorial Guinea10

    Main Image: Sports

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.