9 C
Saturday, June 15, 2024

    Latest Posts

    Pep Guardiola Named LMA Manager of the Year, Emma Hayes Triumphs in Women’s Super League

    The League Managers Association (LMA) has named Pep Guardiola, manager of Manchester City, manager of the year. This is Guardiola’s third time receiving the prestigious Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy, which is voted on by managers from all divisions.

    At the age of 52, the Spaniard was also named Premier League Manager of the Year after his team won their third consecutive title and fifth in six seasons. Guardiola’s exceptional leadership and tactical prowess were instrumental in Manchester City’s impressive achievements.

    Chelsea manager Emma Hayes won the Women’s Super League award for the fourth time in a row and the sixth time overall. Chelsea won their fourth consecutive WSL title under Hayes, narrowly defeating Manchester United by two points. In addition, they defeated Manchester United to win their third consecutive FA Cup.

    Guardiola’s three LMA Manager of the Year awards put him in the company of David Moyes as the only manager to do so, though both are still two awards behind the legendary Sir Alex Ferguson.

    In the coming weeks, Manchester City will face Manchester United in the FA Cup final on Saturday. If they win this game, they will have a chance to complete the treble when they face Inter Milan in the highly anticipated Champions League final on June 10th.

    Guardiola expressed his gratitude by saying, “It’s an incredible honour to receive this trophy.” We play in the best league in the world, and I can assure you that we will compete at the highest level again next season.”

    Another notable honour was the presentation of the inaugural John Duncan Award to Lou Macari. This award recognizes Macari’s exceptional achievements. The 73-year-old former Scotland, Celtic, and Manchester United midfielder has been running a homeless shelter in Stoke for the past few years. He had two stints as a manager at the club as well.

    Mikel Arteta of Arsenal, Roberto de Zerbi of Brighton, Eddie Howe of Newcastle, Vincent Kompany of Burnley, and Steven Schumacher of Plymouth were among the other managers shortlisted for the Manager of the Year award. Kompany and Schumacher were named Championship and League One managers of the year, respectively, after their respective teams amassed an impressive 101 points en route to winning their respective championships.

    Leyton Orient manager Richie Wellens won the League Two award after leading his team to victory. Lauren Smith, who led Bristol City to the Women’s Championship title, was also honoured.

    The LMA Manager of the Year Awards recognizes outstanding contributions made by managers from various leagues, emphasizing their significant impact on the success and development of their respective teams.

    Main Image: Goal.com

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.