18.4 C
Monday, July 22, 2024

    Latest Posts

    And the winners from the SA Rugby 2024 awards are…

    In a star-studded event, SA Rugby rolled out the red carpet to honour the best of the best from last year.

    No surprises here: Eben Etzebeth was in the spotlight once more, winning the SA Rugby Men’s Player of the Year title for a second time. He faced stiff competition from the likes of Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe, and Damian Willemse.

    But let’s talk about the new blood. Bulls sensation Canan Moodie stole the show, and rightly so.

    At just 19, Moodie made jaws drop with a sensational try in his Springbok debut against Australia in 2022. He kept the momentum going, featuring in three more Tests that year and shining brightly in 2023.

    With Frans Steyn sidelined, Moodie took the opportunity, earning his spot in the World Cup squad as the youngest member and making waves as an outside centre.

    And the winners from the SA Rugby 2024 awards are…, EntertainmentSA News South Africa
    Canan Moodie / Image: Gallo Images

    Here is the list of all the winners:

    SA Rugby Men’s Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth
    Finalists: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe, Damian Willemse

    Springbok Women’s Player of the Year: Libbie Janse van Rensburg
    Finalists: Aseza Hele, Babalwa Latsha, Rights Mkhari, Nadine Roos

    SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Canan Moodie (Springboks / Vodacom Bulls)
    Finalists: Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers), Jaden Hendrikse (Springboks / Cell C Sharks), Evan Roos (Springboks / DHL Stormers), Ruan Venter (Emirates Lions)

    Springbok Sevens Men’s Player of the Year: Ricardo Duarttee
    Finalists: Christie Grobbelaar, Shilton van Wyk

    Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Corne Beets
    Finalists: Paul de Villiers, Damian Markus

    Team of the Year: Springboks
    Finalists: Toyota Cheetahs, DHL Stormers

    Coach of the Year: Jacques Nienaber (Springboks)
    Finalists: Hawies Fourie (Toyota Cheetahs), John Dobson (DHL Stormers)

    Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Ruan Pienaar (Toyota Cheetahs)
    Finalists: Tinus de Beer (Airlink Pumas), Devon Williams (Airlink Pumas)

    Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Cameron Hufke (Boland Kavaliers)
    Finalists: Keagan Fortune (Valke), Darian Hock (Boland Kavaliers)

    SuperSport Fans’ Moment of the Year: Cheslin Kolbe
    Finalists: Bongi Mbonambi, Manie Libbok, Damian Willemse

    Provincial Women’s Player of the Year: Libbie Janse van Rensburg (Bulls Daisies)

    OUTsurance Referee of the Year: Jaco Peyper

    Vodacom United Rugby Championship Fans’ Player of the Season (announced last year): Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers)

    SA Rugby Associate Member of the Year: SA Deaf Rugby Association

    Main image: SA Rugby

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.