SAFTAs 2018: Complete list of winners!

Fronted by Thando Thabete and Phat Joe, this year’s SAFTAs ceremony was nothing short of spectacular.

The theme for the annual awards show was ‘Our Stories Are Gold’ in honour of “those who have captured our hearts, minds and imaginations through the telling of our unique stories.”

Amongst the winners, Isibaya won the Best TV Soap award, High Rollers 3 won Best Telenovela and Uzalo was voted Most Popular soap by the public.

Johan Stemmet and Thoko Ntshinga received Lifetime Achievement Awards and Ayanda Sithebe was the recipient of the Youth Achiever Award.

Inxeba (The Wound) won Best Feature film.

See the full list of winners below:


Award TitleProgramme TitleProduction House/ Winner(s)
Best Short FilmApocalypse Now NowBe Phat Motel Company
Best Achievement in Art / Production Design – TV ComedyPuppet Nation ZACatherine Jacot-Guillarmod and  Lindsay van Blerk
Best Achievement in Make-up and Hairstyling – TV ComedySes Top La 4Chantel Nel
Best Achievement in Wardrobe/ Costume Design – TV ComedyPuppet Nation ZACheney Van Graan, Geralt  Cloete and Alice Jacobs
Best Achievement in  Sound Design – TV ComedyPuppet Nation ZANeil Benjamin
Best Achievement in  Cinematography – TV ComedyPuppet Nation ZATonga Isango
Best Achievement in Editing- TV ComedySuzelleDIYAri Kruger
Best Achievement in Original Music/ Score – TV Soap/ TelenovelaRing of Lies 2Ngane Sikobi
Best Achievement in Post Production – TV Soap/ TelenovelaHigh Rollers 3Kholofelo Malatshi,  Bertus Kirsten, Brett Macdonald, Tumelo Mmatladi, Jeanette Mokobane, Sizwe Msibi, John Chaka and Theo Scheepers
Best Achievement in Cinematography – TelenovelaRing of Lies 2Ntobeko Dlamini and Marc Brower
Best Achievement in Wardrobe, Make-up and Hair – TV Soap/TelenovelaIsibayaLebogang Lehasa, Sheila Petlele and Sebenzile Madondo
Best Achievement in Art/ Production Design – TV Soap/TelenovelaIsibayaDylan Lloyd and Henrietta Moutinho
Best Achievement in Editing – TV DramaTjovitjoKabi Modiko and Ikaye Masisi
Best Achievement in Sound Design – TV DramaTjovitjoBernard Masoka
Best  Achievement in  Original Music/ Score-TV DramaIsikizi 2Murray Anderson and Phila Madlingozi
Best Achievement in Art/ Production Design – TV DramaTjovitjoEphraim Mathula and Vivienne Mahloko
Best Achievement in Wardrobe/ Costume Design– TV DramaDie Boekklub 2Ayesha Katieb and Jodi Bowers
Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling – TV DramaLockdownBabalwa Carol Djieutceu
Best Achievement in Cinematography – TV DramaTjovitjoMotheo Moeng, Marius Van Graan and Ofentse Mwase
Best Achievement in Directing – Documentary FeatureSkulls of my PeopleVincent Moloi
Best Achievement in Cinematography – Documentary FeatureSkulls of my PeopleMarius van Graan
Best Achievement in Editing – Documentary FeatureThe Giant is FallingHenion Han and Megan Gill
Best Achievement in Sound Design – Documentary FeatureThe Giant is FallingVaughan Phillips
Best Documentary ShortNanlaban: The Philippines War on DrugsChronicle
Best Wildlife ProgrammeKing of the Mountain BaboonsEarth Touch (Pty) Ltd
Best Children’s ProgrammeXcellerate2 Blonds and a Redhead Filming CC
Best Reality ShowWingin It Cheeky Media
Best Game ShowDie Kliek 5Afrokaans Film & Television
Best International Format ShowShark Tank South AfricaRapid Blue
Best Factual & Educational ProgrammeOur Moments Dzuguda Productions
Best Current Affairs  ProgrammeENVIROSERV: Kicking Up A StinkNguni TV
Best Variety & Magazine ShowEdik van Nantes 2 Meerfout Films
Best Youth ProgrammeMTV Shuga – In Real LifeTIA Productions
Best Talk ShowRepubliek van Zoid AfrikaBrainwave Productions
Best Music ShowStarlight ClassicsFreshly Minced
Best made for TV MovieO Kae MolaoLeburugraphy Pictures
Best Micro-budget FilmNew Era SessionsRouge Music Entertainment
Best Achievement in Cinematography – Feature FilmBeyond the RiverTrevor Calverley
Best Achievement in Sound Design – Feature FilmFrom a house on Willow StreetJames Olivier, Simon Ratcliffe, Charles Singleton, Richard West and Andries Smit
Best Achievement in Original Music/ Score – Feature FilmKalushiRashid Lanie
Best Achievement in Editing – Feature FilmInxeba (The Wound)Matthew Swanepoel
Best Achievement in  Production Design – Feature FilmKalushiChantel Carter
Best Achievement in Costume Design – Feature FilmKalushiRuy Filipe
Best Achievement in Make-up and Hairstyling – Feature FilmFrom a house on Willow StreetCharlene Warwick & Jaco Snyman

Leave a Reply