11.6 C
Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Latest Posts

Desiree Ellis, Sadio Mane win big accolades at 2022 CAF annual Awards

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has made South Africa proud after securing the CAF African Women’s Coach of the Year Award on Thursday night.

The former footballer bagged the top gong at a glittering ceremony in Morocco and claimed the award for the third consecutive time.

Ellis is also hoping to guide her team to glory when they face Morocco in the final of the African Women’s Cup of Nations on Saturday night.

The Cape Town-born manager was joined by the Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies team who were voted as the stand-out performer in the women’s category.

Masandawana are the current African champions and walked away with the African Women’s Club of the Year title.

Among other winners, is Senegal skipper and Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane who was selected as the African Player of the Year.

The former Liverpool star led the Lions of Teranga to continental triumph earlier this year when they downed Egypt in the AFCON final.

While South African coach Pitso Mosimane failed to make the cut as he ran for the Coach of the Year accoade, the award went to his Senegalese counterpart, Aliou Cisse.

The Full List of Winners at the CAF Awards:

Player of the Year (Men)

Sadio Mane (Senegal and Bayern Munich)

Player of the Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and FC Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Club of the Year (Women)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men)


National Team of the Year (Women)

To be announced after the WAFCON final between Banyana Banyana and Morocco

Goal of the Year

Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

Main Image: Banyana Banyana/Twitter

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.